
Nanit Pro
9.1/10, the highest score of the 5 rated smart baby monitors.
Rule: Highest editorial score in the category.
Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 · 6 products · scored on published specs, not lab tests
Not a medical device unless stated; talk to your pediatrician. We only repeat what each maker declares about breathing alerts and FDA status. No monitor replaces safe sleep practices.
Our top pick

$289.99checked Oct 29, 2026

$379.99checked Oct 29, 2026

$129.99$349checked Oct 29, 2026

$299.99checked Oct 29, 2026

$259.99checked Oct 29, 2026

Rank and medals come only from the published formula. Buttons are direct links to the maker, not affiliate links. Images: manufacturers and publishers, embedded from their official sites.

9.1/10, the highest score of the 5 rated smart baby monitors.
Rule: Highest editorial score in the category.

$129.99 when we checked, with a score of 9.0/10.
Rule: Lowest price among the rated products.

The maker states FDA clearance for its sock component.
Rule: Best-rated monitor whose maker states FDA clearance.

Works with its own parent unit, no Wi-Fi required (maker).
Rule: Monitor that works without Wi-Fi, as the maker states.
Each badge follows a published rule, shown under the card. A product gets one badge at most: each rule picks among the products not already picked.
One column per product. Swipe sideways on a phone; the first column stays in place.
| Spec | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our score | ||||||
| Editorial score | 9.1/10 (Best in this row) | 9.0/10 | 9.0/10 | 9.0/10 | 8.9/10 | No score |
| Rank in its category | #1 of 5, baby monitors | #2 of 5, baby monitors | #3 of 5, baby monitors | #4 of 5, baby monitors | #5 of 5, baby monitors | No score |
| Price and running costs | ||||||
| Price | $289.99 | $379.99 | $129.99 (Best in this row)List price $349 | $299.99 | $259.99 | $1,999 |
| Subscription | Not required (optional: Insights plans optional: Memories $10/month or $120/year (nanit.com/app); Milestones variant listed $300 (period not confirmed on page)) (Best in this row) | Not required (optional: Optional Owlet360 $9.99/month after 7-day trial) (Best in this row) | Partly: homepage says 'Requires $9.99/mo Mikucare Membership' for Miku Pro; product page says 'Optional Miku Membership for advanced analytics/video storage' | Not required (optional: Optional Owlet360: $9.99/month after 7-day free trial (owletcare.com/pages/owlet360)) (Best in this row) | Not required (Best in this row) | 2 years Nurture Core included; then Core $120/yr, Plus $199/yr (nurture page) |
| Cost over 2 years | $289.99Device only: the plan is optional | $379.99Device only: the plan is optional | Not calculatedPlan partly required; price per feature not comparable | $299.99Device only: the plan is optional | $259.99 (Best in this row)Device only: no subscription required (maker) | Not calculatedPlan partly required; price per feature not comparable |
| Features | ||||||
| Video | 1080p (1920x1080) per Nanit support article Nanit Pro vs Plus | 2K HD | 1080p HD | No camera (sold separately) | 4K UHD (parent unit 5" 720p per Amazon title) (Best in this row) | Not stated |
| Night vision | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Wi-Fi | Required | Yes (2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for sock base) | Yes (2.4 & 5 GHz) | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi + Bluetooth (base station) | Not required | Not stated |
| Two-way audio | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| App features | Live view, sound & motion alerts, background audio, temp+humidity, white noise; sleep analytics/video history with Insights | Pulse & oxygen alerts + cry, sound, motion alerts; 4x digital zoom; 130° FOV; environmental monitoring | Breathing motion & sleep trends, white noise/lullabies, nursery conditions | Owlet Dream App: live pulse rate & oxygen readings, health notifications, historical trends, sleep insights (no subscription) | Cry & loud-noise detection, temperature, 330° pan/60° tilt, 8x zoom, split-screen, share with 5 family members | Wake-up detection, auto-bounce/soothing, built-in baby monitor camera, sound, OTA updates |
| Safety claims (maker) | ||||||
| Breathing alerts | Camera + patterned Breathing Wear (band/swaddle/sleeping bag/pajamas) – 'breathing motion' via camera algorithms (Best in this row) | Sock (pulse rate + oxygen) + camera motion/cry/sound alerts; no breathing claim | Contact-free camera/sensor ('SensorFusion', no wearable) – 'breathing motion' (Best in this row) | Sock (pulse oximetry: pulse rate + oxygen level; maker does not claim breathing monitoring) | None claimed (cry/noise/temperature detection) | Built-in camera senses wake-up signs (movement, eyes opening, sound) and auto-bounces; no breathing claim found |
| FDA status (maker) | NOT A MEDICAL DEVICE. THE PRODUCTS ARE NOT MEDICAL DEVICES ... NEITHER REGULATED NOR APPROVED BY THE U.S. FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION | Dream Sock component: 'FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance)'; page calls it 'clinically proven Dream Sock' (Best in this row) | Miku is not a medical device and is not intended to diagnose or treat any health condition. | FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter) (Best in this row) | No FDA claim; no breathing monitoring | No FDA statement found |
| Design and storage | ||||||
| Local storage | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Highlighted: best value on a criterion we score.
Cost over 2 years = price + 24 months of the cheapest required plan, when the maker publishes both. Optional plans are left out. We never estimate a missing figure.
What actually matters, in plain words.
Only Owlet states FDA clearance here, for its Dream Sock (pulse rate and oxygen level). Nanit and Miku state that they are not medical devices. Treat a non-cleared monitor as a camera with insights, not as an alarm.
Makers use different methods: a sock that reads pulse and oxygen (with no breathing claim), patterned wear seen by a camera, or a contact-free camera sensor. Read how each one works before you rely on it.
History, insights and alerts can sit behind optional or partly required plans. The table shows the plan before the price, and the 2-year cost leaves optional plans out.
A monitor with its own parent unit keeps working when the router drops. Wi-Fi models need a stable network for alerts on your phone.
Video, sleep insights and, for some, breathing or vitals alerts. We rank every smart baby monitor we track with the same formula, built on the facts each maker publishes: breathing-motion alerts (maker claim), FDA status as stated by the maker, video resolution, no subscription needed, local video storage, price.
Each criterion is turned into points from 0 to 10 within the category, then averaged with these weights. A missing figure is left out and the weights are renormalized. Products with too little published data are listed without a score. No lab or field testing.
Read the full methodologyOn our published formula, the Nanit Pro leads with 9.1/10, ahead of the Owlet Dream Duo (Gen 3) (9.0) and the Miku Pro (9.0). Scores come from official specs and prices checked on Oct 29, 2026.
The Miku Pro at $129.99 when we checked. Cheapest is not always best value: compare the running costs below.
Most are not. Only the Owlet Dream Sock is stated by its maker to be FDA-cleared (De Novo); Nanit and Miku state they are not medical devices. A monitor does not replace safe-sleep practices: talk to your pediatrician.
No. We compare published specifications and prices with a formula shown on our methodology page. We say so on every page rather than pretending to run tests.