#1Nanit Pro
- Overhead 1080p camera with sensor-free breathing-motion via Breathing Wear
- Explicitly not a medical device / not FDA-regulated

Image: manufacturer, embedded from the maker's site
Ranked #4 of 6 smart baby monitors we compare, with an editorial score of 9.0/10. Strongest point on paper: fDA status as stated by the maker (FDA-cleared (maker)). Weakest: no breathing-motion alerts (maker claim).
Points out of 10 within the category; "n/a" = not published, left out of the score. Scale 7.8-9.5. How we score
Direct link to the maker, not an affiliate link.
Best for parents who want FDA-cleared pulse & oxygen alerts without a camera.
Not a medical device unless stated; talk to your pediatrician. The maker states: "FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter)". A monitor does not replace safe sleep practices.
| Video | No camera (sold separately) |
|---|---|
| Breathing alerts | No, sock (pulse oximetry: pulse rate + oxygen level; maker does not claim breathing monitoring) |
| FDA status (maker) | FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter) |
| Subscription | Not required (optional: Optional Owlet360: $9.99/month after 7-day free trial (owletcare.com/pages/owlet360)) |
| Night vision | Not stated |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi + Bluetooth (base station) |
| Two-way audio | Not stated |
| Local storage | Not stated |
| App features | Owlet Dream App: live pulse rate & oxygen readings, health notifications, historical trends, sleep insights (no subscription) |
Price checked on Oct 29, 2026: $299.99.
Subscription: Optional Owlet360: $9.99/month after 7-day free trial (owletcare.com/pages/owlet360).
Parents who want FDA-cleared pulse & oxygen alerts without a camera.
#1
#5$299.99 on the official store when we checked on Oct 29, 2026. Prices change: the button above leads to the current price.
The maker states: "FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter)". We repeat the maker's wording; talk to your pediatrician about whether a monitor is right for your baby.
The maker does not claim breathing monitoring (sock (pulse oximetry: pulse rate + oxygen level; maker does not claim breathing monitoring)).
No lab or field testing. The score is calculated from the maker's published specs and price, with weights published on our methodology page. Here, 100% of the weighted criteria were known.
Related guide: Do smart baby monitors with breathing alerts make sense?
Read on Oct 29, 2026. Specs and prices are the maker's; the score and the verdict are ours.