Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 on official stores and pricing pages · 47 products and apps · no paid scores

Owlet Dream Duo (Gen 3) vs Owlet Dream Sock

Criterion by criterion

Points out of 10 on each scored criterion. Owlet Dream Duo (Gen 3): 1 wins · Owlet Dream Sock: 1 wins.

  • no3.0

    Breathing-motion alerts (maker claim)

    3.0no
  • FDA-cleared (maker)10.0

    FDA status as stated by the maker

    10.0FDA-cleared (maker)
  • 2K7.4

    Video resolution

    3.0no camera
  • not required10.0

    No subscription needed

    10.0not required
  • not statedn/a

    Local video storage

    n/anot stated
  • $379.997.3

    Price

    7.9$299.99

Verdict by profile

Full comparison table

Spec
Our score
Editorial score9.0/10 (Best in this row)9.0/10
Rank in its category#2 of 5, baby monitors#4 of 5, baby monitors
Price and running costs
Price$379.99$299.99 (Best in this row)
SubscriptionNot required (optional: Optional Owlet360 $9.99/month after 7-day trial)Not required (optional: Optional Owlet360: $9.99/month after 7-day free trial (owletcare.com/pages/owlet360))
Cost over 2 years$379.99Device only: the plan is optional$299.99 (Best in this row)Device only: the plan is optional
Features
Video2K HD (Best in this row)No camera (sold separately)
Night visionYesNot stated
Wi-FiYes (2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for sock base)2.4 GHz Wi-Fi + Bluetooth (base station)
Two-way audioYesNot stated
App featuresPulse & oxygen alerts + cry, sound, motion alerts; 4x digital zoom; 130° FOV; environmental monitoringOwlet Dream App: live pulse rate & oxygen readings, health notifications, historical trends, sleep insights (no subscription)
Safety claims (maker)
Breathing alertsSock (pulse rate + oxygen) + camera motion/cry/sound alerts; no breathing claimSock (pulse oximetry: pulse rate + oxygen level; maker does not claim breathing monitoring)
FDA status (maker)Dream Sock component: 'FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance)'; page calls it 'clinically proven Dream Sock'FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter)
Design and storage
Local storageNot statedNot stated

Highlighted: best value on a criterion we score.

Cost over 2 years = price + 24 months of the cheapest required plan, when the maker publishes both. Optional plans are left out. We never estimate a missing figure.

Questions

Which is better, the Owlet Dream Duo (Gen 3) or the Owlet Dream Sock?

On our formula, the Owlet Dream Duo (Gen 3) scores higher (9.0/10 against 9.0/10). It wins 1 of the 6 criteria we compare; the best choice depends on which criteria matter to you.

Which one is cheaper?

The Owlet Dream Sock, at $299.99 against $379.99 on the official stores on Oct 29, 2026.

Did you test both?

No. This comparison uses the makers' published specs and prices only, with the scoring formula from our methodology page.