Runway
9.5/10, the highest score of the 6 rated AI video generators.
Rule: Highest editorial score in the category.
Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 · 6 tools · scored on published specs, not lab tests
Our top pick
From $15/mochecked Oct 29, 2026
From $20/mochecked Oct 29, 2026
From $29/mochecked Oct 29, 2026
SynthesiaFrom $19/mochecked Oct 29, 2026
From $28/mochecked Oct 29, 2026
PictoryFrom $29/mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Rank and medals come only from the published formula. Buttons are direct links to the maker, not affiliate links. Images: manufacturers and publishers, embedded from their official sites.
9.5/10, the highest score of the 6 rated AI video generators.
Rule: Highest editorial score in the category.
SynthesiaFrom $19/mo when we checked, with a score of 9.1/10.
Rule: Lowest price among the rated products.
Free plan: Free: limited credits to explore, reset every week (Monday 12 a.m. UTC), no card needed…
Rule: Best-rated tool with a free plan.
9.1/10 with AI presenters included.
Rule: Best-rated tool with AI avatars.
Each badge follows a published rule, shown under the card. A product gets one badge at most: each rule picks among the products not already picked.
One column per product. Swipe sideways on a phone; the first column stays in place.
| Spec | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our score | ||||||
| Editorial score | 9.5/10 (Best in this row) | 9.2/10 | 9.1/10 | 9.1/10 | 8.9/10 | 8.4/10 |
| Rank in its category | #1 of 6, video generators | #2 of 6, video generators | #3 of 6, video generators | #4 of 6, video generators | #5 of 6, video generators | #6 of 6, video generators |
| Price and running costs | ||||||
| Free plan | $0: 125 one-time credits, selection of generative models, 5GB storage (Best in this row) | Free: limited credits to explore, reset every week (Monday 12 a.m. UTC), no card needed; downloads carry an invideo watermark (Best in this row) | $0/mo: 3 videos a month, watermarked, up to 1 minute each; Avatar IV & Video Agent; 500+ presenters; 30+ languages (Best in this row) | Basic $0: 500 credits/month, 10 minutes of Studio video creation or dubbing, 3 survey responses, 1 Syren video (limited promo); videos carry a Synthesia watermark (Best in this row) | $0: 3 credits per month, 300 voices across 80+ languages, HD 720p videos, includes Fliki watermark (Best in this row) | No free plan shown (trial only) |
| Entry price | $15 / month (Best in this row) | $20 / month | $29 / month | $19 / month | $28 / month | $29 / month |
| Watermark on free plan | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Cost over 2 years | $28824 × $12/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually | $240 (Best in this row)24 × $10/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually | $57624 × $24/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually | $33624 × $14/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually | $403.2024 × $16.80/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually | $60024 × $25/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually |
| Languages | ||||||
| Languages | Not stated | 50+ | 175+ languages and dialects (Creator) (Best in this row) | 140+ | 80+ | 29 (Professional and Teams; 7 on Starter) |
| Features | ||||||
| Voice cloning | Pro (1 custom voice clone) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Max resolution | 4K upscaling (Best in this row) | 4K (Seedance 2.0 on Plus) (Best in this row) | 4K (Pro) (Best in this row) | 1080p (Full HD MP4 download, Starter and up) | 1080p | 1080p (720p on the free trial) |
| AI avatars | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Stock media | No | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| API | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Separate API pricing | Premium & Enterprise | Yes |
Highlighted: best value on a criterion we score.
Cost over 2 years = price + 24 months of the cheapest required plan, when the maker publishes both. Optional plans are left out. We never estimate a missing figure.
What actually matters, in plain words.
Free plans usually add a watermark and cap credits or export quality. They are good for trying a tool, rarely for publishing.
Entry prices are often shown per month but billed yearly. The table shows the billing next to the price, and the 2-year cost uses the cheapest paid plan.
Avatar tools put a presenter on screen for training or explainers; generative tools create scenes from text. Pick the kind of video you actually make.
Check the maximum export resolution on the plan you can afford, and the languages if you publish for several markets.
Text to video, avatars and generative clips, from free plans up. We rank every AI video generator we track with the same formula, built on the facts each maker publishes: free plan, entry price per month, languages, voice cloning, max export resolution, no watermark on free plan.
Each criterion is turned into points from 0 to 10 within the category, then averaged with these weights. A missing figure is left out and the weights are renormalized. Products with too little published data are listed without a score. No lab or field testing.
Read the full methodologyOn our published formula, the Runway leads with 9.5/10, ahead of the invideo AI (9.2) and the HeyGen (9.1). Scores come from official specs and prices checked on Oct 29, 2026.
The Runway at From $15/mo when we checked. Cheapest is not always best value: compare the running costs below.
Free plans are shown by: Runway, invideo AI, HeyGen, Synthesia, Fliki. Free plans usually add a watermark or cap minutes or credits.
No. We compare published specifications and prices with a formula shown on our methodology page. We say so on every page rather than pretending to run tests.