Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 on official stores and pricing pages · 47 products and apps · no paid scores

Runway vs Synthesia

Criterion by criterion

Points out of 10 on each scored criterion. Runway: 2 wins · Synthesia: 0 wins.

  • yes10.0

    Free plan

    10.0yes
  • $15/mo10.0

    Entry price

    7.5$19/mo
  • not statedn/a

    Languages

    9.1140+
  • yes10.0

    Voice cloning

    10.0yes
  • 4K10.0

    Max export resolution

    3.01080p
  • not statedn/a

    No watermark on free plan

    4.0watermark

Verdict by profile

Full comparison table

Spec
Our score
Editorial score9.5/10 (Best in this row)9.1/10
Rank in its category#1 of 6, video generators#4 of 6, video generators
Price and running costs
Free plan$0: 125 one-time credits, selection of generative models, 5GB storageBasic $0: 500 credits/month, 10 minutes of Studio video creation or dubbing, 3 survey responses, 1 Syren video (limited promo); videos carry a Synthesia watermark
Entry price$15 / month (Best in this row)$19 / month
Watermark on free planNot statedYes
Cost over 2 years$288 (Best in this row)24 × $12/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually$33624 × $14/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually
Languages
LanguagesNot stated140+
Features
Voice cloningPro (1 custom voice clone)Yes
Max resolution4K upscaling (Best in this row)1080p (Full HD MP4 download, Starter and up)
AI avatarsNoYes
Stock mediaNoNot stated
APIYesSeparate API pricing

Highlighted: best value on a criterion we score.

Cost over 2 years = price + 24 months of the cheapest required plan, when the maker publishes both. Optional plans are left out. We never estimate a missing figure.

Questions

Which is better, the Runway or the Synthesia?

On our formula, the Runway scores higher (9.5/10 against 9.1/10). It wins 2 of the 6 criteria we compare; the best choice depends on which criteria matter to you.

Which one is cheaper?

The Runway, at From $15/mo against From $19/mo on the official pricing pages on Oct 29, 2026.

Did you test both?

No. This comparison uses the makers' published specs and prices only, with the scoring formula from our methodology page.