Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 on official stores and pricing pages · 47 products and apps · no paid scores

Nanit Pro vs Owlet Dream Duo (Gen 3)

Criterion by criterion

Points out of 10 on each scored criterion. Nanit Pro: 2 wins · Owlet Dream Duo (Gen 3): 2 wins.

  • yes10.0

    Breathing-motion alerts (maker claim)

    3.0no
  • not a medical device (maker)4.0

    FDA status as stated by the maker

    10.0FDA-cleared (maker)
  • 1080p6.5

    Video resolution

    7.42K
  • not required10.0

    No subscription needed

    10.0not required
  • not statedn/a

    Local video storage

    n/anot stated
  • $289.998.0

    Price

    7.3$379.99

Verdict by profile

Full comparison table

Spec
Our score
Editorial score9.1/10 (Best in this row)9.0/10
Rank in its category#1 of 5, baby monitors#2 of 5, baby monitors
Price and running costs
Price$289.99 (Best in this row)$379.99
SubscriptionNot required (optional: Insights plans optional: Memories $10/month or $120/year (nanit.com/app); Milestones variant listed $300 (period not confirmed on page))Not required (optional: Optional Owlet360 $9.99/month after 7-day trial)
Cost over 2 years$289.99 (Best in this row)Device only: the plan is optional$379.99Device only: the plan is optional
Features
Video1080p (1920x1080) per Nanit support article Nanit Pro vs Plus2K HD (Best in this row)
Night visionYesYes
Wi-FiRequiredYes (2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for sock base)
Two-way audioYesYes
App featuresLive view, sound & motion alerts, background audio, temp+humidity, white noise; sleep analytics/video history with InsightsPulse & oxygen alerts + cry, sound, motion alerts; 4x digital zoom; 130° FOV; environmental monitoring
Safety claims (maker)
Breathing alertsCamera + patterned Breathing Wear (band/swaddle/sleeping bag/pajamas) – 'breathing motion' via camera algorithms (Best in this row)Sock (pulse rate + oxygen) + camera motion/cry/sound alerts; no breathing claim
FDA status (maker)NOT A MEDICAL DEVICE. THE PRODUCTS ARE NOT MEDICAL DEVICES ... NEITHER REGULATED NOR APPROVED BY THE U.S. FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATIONDream Sock component: 'FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance)'; page calls it 'clinically proven Dream Sock' (Best in this row)
Design and storage
Local storageNot statedNot stated

Highlighted: best value on a criterion we score.

Cost over 2 years = price + 24 months of the cheapest required plan, when the maker publishes both. Optional plans are left out. We never estimate a missing figure.

Questions

Which is better, the Nanit Pro or the Owlet Dream Duo (Gen 3)?

On our formula, the Nanit Pro scores higher (9.1/10 against 9.0/10). It wins 2 of the 6 criteria we compare; the best choice depends on which criteria matter to you.

Which one is cheaper?

The Nanit Pro, at $289.99 against $379.99 on the official stores on Oct 29, 2026.

Did you test both?

No. This comparison uses the makers' published specs and prices only, with the scoring formula from our methodology page.