Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 on official stores and pricing pages · 47 products and apps · no paid scores
Pocketalk

Pocketalk S2 review

$199Price checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official store. Prices change.

Ranked #3 of 7 handheld translators we compare, with an editorial score of 8.9/10. Strongest point on paper: no subscription needed. Weakest: offline languages (0).

Editorial score8.9/10
  • Offline languages3.0
  • Online languages9.6
  • Mobile data included3.8
  • Screen sizen/a
  • No subscription needed10.0
  • Price8.5

Points out of 10 within the category; "n/a" = not published, left out of the score. Scale 7.8-9.5. How we score

Check price at the official store

Direct link to the maker, not an affiliate link.

Key specs

  • 92Online languages
  • 0Offline languages
  • 2-year cellular data in 170+ countries/regionsMobile data included
  • 1200 mAhBattery
  • Not requiredSubscription
  • 74 gWeight
  • voice translation, camera text translationModes
Verdict

Best for casual travellers who want a simple device with data included.

What we like

  • Cheapest data-included device ($199 with 2 years of data)
  • Camera translates text in 55 languages
  • Small and light (2.6 oz)

What we don't

  • No offline translation at all (official FAQ)
  • Data plan ends after 2 years (5-year version costs more)
  • Speech limited to ~30 s per translation

Full specs

Online languages92
Offline languages0
Mobile data included2-year cellular data in 170+ countries/regions
ScreenNot stated
Battery1200 mAh
SubscriptionNot required
StorageNot stated
Weight74 g
Modesvoice translation, camera text translation

Subscription and hidden costs

Price checked on Oct 29, 2026: $199.

Version priced: White, 2-year eSIM (5-year eSIM version: $249).

No subscription is required according to the maker.

Data: 2-year cellular data in 170+ countries/regions. After that period, check the maker's data offer.

Who it's for

Casual travellers who want a simple device with data included.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need to translate without a connection: no offline languages are published.

Closest alternatives

Full ranking

Questions

How much does the Pocketalk S2 cost?

$199 on the official store when we checked on Oct 29, 2026. Prices change: the button above leads to the current price.

Does the Pocketalk S2 work offline?

No offline languages are published: plan on a connection (2-year cellular data in 170+ countries/regions).

Does the Pocketalk S2 need a subscription?

No subscription is required according to the maker.

How did you score it? Did you test it?

No lab or field testing. The score is calculated from the maker's published specs and price, with weights published on our methodology page. Here, 88% of the weighted criteria were known.

Sources

Read on Oct 29, 2026. Specs and prices are the maker's; the score and the verdict are ours.