#2
Image: manufacturer, embedded from the maker's site
Halo Collar 5 review
Ranked #4 of 5 GPS dog collars we compare, with an editorial score of 8.7/10. Strongest point on paper: live GPS over cellular (included). Weakest: required plan per month ($9.99/mo).
Points out of 10 within the category; "n/a" = not published, left out of the score. Scale 7.8-9.5. How we score
Direct link to the maker, not an affiliate link.
Key specs
- YesGPS
- Unlimited cellular data on all major carriers (plan)Network
- 2 daysBattery life
- YesVirtual fence
- 10 lbMinimum dog weight
Best for owners replacing a physical/invisible fence on large properties.
What we like
- Dual-frequency GPS, AlwaysOn tracking, virtual fences
- Training content (Cesar Millan) built in
- 90-day satisfaction guarantee
What we don't
- Expensive hardware + mandatory plan
- Battery up to 48 h only
- Bronze plan limited to 5 fences
Full specs
| GPS | Yes |
|---|---|
| Network | Unlimited cellular data on all major carriers (plan) |
| Plan | From $9.99/mo (Bronze); annual billing shown as Bronze $9.16/mo, Silver $13.74/mo, Gold $18.32/mo (pay 11 months) |
| Battery life | 2 days |
| Virtual fence | Yes |
| Water resistance | Not stated |
| Minimum dog weight | 10 lb |
| Training & alerts | Cesar Millan training program in app, feedback system (prevention/warning), beacons |
| Weight | Not stated |
Subscription and hidden costs
Price checked on Oct 29, 2026: $524 (list price $599; the lower price is the maker's current offer).
Plan: From $9.99/mo (Bronze); annual billing shown as Bronze $9.16/mo, Silver $13.74/mo, Gold $18.32/mo (pay 11 months).
First year with the cheapest monthly plan: about $644 including the collar.
Who it's for
Owners replacing a physical/invisible fence on large properties.
Look elsewhere if
- You do not want a monthly plan: one is required, from $9.99/month.
- You want to charge rarely: about 2 days per charge.
Closest alternatives
Full ranking
#2
#3Questions
How much does the Halo Collar 5 cost?
$524 on the official store when we checked on Oct 29, 2026, down from a list price of $599. Prices change: the button above leads to the current price.
Does the Halo Collar 5 need a subscription?
Yes. From $9.99/mo (Bronze); annual billing shown as Bronze $9.16/mo, Silver $13.74/mo, Gold $18.32/mo (pay 11 months).
How long does the battery last?
Up to 2 days per charge (maker figure; real life depends on tracking mode).
How did you score it? Did you test it?
No lab or field testing. The score is calculated from the maker's published specs and price, with weights published on our methodology page. Here, 100% of the weighted criteria were known.
Sources
Read on Oct 29, 2026. Specs and prices are the maker's; the score and the verdict are ours.